The Mackintosh Building - completed in 1909 the west wing with its dramatic design and dominating windows heralded the birth of a new style in 20th century European architecture

GSA Mackintosh Building

Patron, President & Fellows >

Royal Patronage following the Accession of His Majesty King Charles III
The former Duke of Rothesay was formerly Patron of The Glasgow School of Art

Honorary President
Stewart Grimshaw

Honorary Past-President
Lord Macfarlane of Bearsden KT

Honorary Vice President (USA)
Professor Tony Jones CBE


The Glasgow School of Art awards Honorary Fellowships to individuals who have made a significant contribtion to the world of fine art, design, architecture, creativity and innovation.

Our current Fellows are:

John Byrne, Artist
Sir Anthony Caro, Sculptor
The Late Clark Fyfe, Architect
Cyril Gerber, Gallery owner
The Late Alasdair Gray, Artist and Author
Perry A King, Designer
Sally Fadden McLellan-Pritchard, Fine Artist
Liz Lochhead, Poet, writer
Lord Macfarlane of Bearsden
The Late Isi Metzstein, Architect
Tetsuya Mukai, Director - Takayama Museum Japan
Ettore Sottsass, Designer
Deyan Sudjic, Architecture Critic
The Late Eleanor Taffner, Hon Vice President of the GSA
Ivor Tiefenbrun, Founder and Managing Direcor of Linn Products